show # 48

4/2/09 Portsmouth, NH Live on Portsmouth Community Radio!

AND @ a kind family’s house

Blake Jr.

American War

The Years of Modern

Letters to the Moon

We woke up early and went to the Ocean with Nick (Dylan Bredeau, booked the show). Cool salty air whirled life into our lungs as we skipped rocks against the in coming waves. My Aunt says the ocean makes you feel small and I agree. Anything that you see the end of, even though you know it continues on, will humble you. It is visible yet vast. It makes you feel like a clump of sea weed, blowing in the wind like the sand’s green hair. We see parts of life that we don’t ever want to see the end of because don’t know if it continues on. I look out and let the ocean make my life feel smaller, like there is no end in sight. Then I can jump into the grandness in front of me and have a swim.

Maine holds natural beauty and a group of people that I really enjoy being around. Sandy shoes piled in to Lisa’s car and we drove over to Portsmouth, NH.

The drive to Portsmouth was quick thanks to calling my mom. I had to catch her up on my life and she had to fill me in on some family plans. I was speeding too. We made it early for our scheduled live set on Portsmouth Community Radio with Rick Dirck, my friend Chelsea Dirck’s dad. He does a weekly live music show. It was so enjoyable. Letters to the Moon and American War played 3 songs  each live on the air and then talked with Rick about tour, song topics, and our lives in Ohio. He is a great DJ with a classic radio voice; comforting and low. He has a warm brightness in his eyes. I see where his daughter gets it. He played some local music and then a song from each of our albums too. We were provided with pizza after the show. PCR seems like an organized and awesome radio station. All volunteer; people supporting and participating in something they believe benefits the community. We were happy to be a part. After the pizza, we got a thorough tour of downtown from Rick. We all got coffee and enjoyed the signs of spring peeking through the clouds. The city is nice to walk around. We ended up at Bull Moose Records and I accidentally spent money on Husker Du and Dag Nasty albums on vinyl. Zac, who booked our show, met up with us after I hunted down his number from a record store employee.

We headed over to our show at Alex’s  (in a band with Zac, Billy Ray Gun) parent’s house. We went down to the finished basement and hung out. 5 minutes later, his mom brought down pretzels with dip and a tub of pop and Gatorade. I had graduation party flashbacks. Tim and Eric Awesome show was on the tube and I had no idea that so many people are obsessed with that show. No wonder I never get any references to popular things on TV. By 6, some kids had arrived and the show began.

Blake Jr., a local around age 20 began the show. He played some Death Cab/Bright Eyes influenced solo stuff on a bright sounding acoustic guitar. He has the talent of being super comfortable in front of people. He was almost a swaggerer. I heard he once drank 12 Dr. Peppers in an hour so I called him DP Blake. I think he wants to be a rock star. With his sureness, I bet he could be.

Matt War was next and I thought he was on point. If you can sound good playing in a parents basement in front of a flat screen and the work from home desk, you can sound good anywhere. Milo, Alex’s 2 yr. old little brother, kept yelling “NO!” after Matt’s songs. He was only pleased when Matt burped before beginning a song. Milo smiled with approval.

The Years of Modern, Jess, played next. She has young talent that she has molded into beautiful and moving songs. She sings dark, blooming melodies. My attention was drawn to her fluent playing. She did a combination of finger tapping, hammer ons and pull offs, strums, and finger picking. She knew she was good. I slid into a pensive mood after her set.

Lisa and I had to battle a bit for attention as we stood up to play. Once we started singing and bouncing like dorks, it was smooth sailing. Our set went well and the people at the show seemed to enjoy it. I met a kid who bought our CD who was 14! I was 10 years older than him. I didn’t feel old. I just saw myself younger and then I saw a quick glimpse of the ground passing from 14 to 24. Strange journey.

After the show, we went downtown again. There was a dream like fog over everything. The ships in the port looked majestic with their bare masts standing sturdy in the night. As young people, we are those masts. If you do one thing, keep the mast sturdy. Whether the sails are piled on deck like bed sheets in a guest room or billowing with the world’s winds, keep sturdy. Know that you hold staying power or the meaningful capability of motion. We have to stay young and sturdy. We walked out to a peninsula and watched a river move with a silent yet swift current. The water rippled and rushed and I just stared in to it as it went out into the salty sea.

On the drive home back to Alex’s from the port, we laughed our throats sore over gogurt, the tube dairy ooze that has rendered spoons obsolete. Glurp it! Drop in the half pipe and fling it in the air and then 360 tail grab and let it splash in your extreme, bad ass, mouth. GOGURT!

1 Comment

Filed under Show Streak 2009 !

One response to “show # 48

  1. LISA

    I love this entry. I especially enjoyed what you wrote about being near the ocean and living as a sturdy mast.

Leave a Reply

