SONG OF THE WEEK CATCH UP!

It is dangerous to schedule a specifically timed recurring event that you are responsible for. Even if it’s as trivial (arguable) as posting on this blog, the failure to keep up can make you feel like a time-tested flake.  I have been not-so-regularly posting my song a week goal on this blog. As a reward to my ‘fans’ that might be more overwhelming than rewarding, here are some songs of the past three weeks that have helped me balance myself as a gross and mobile human. I’ll try to be concise.

Another song my brain radio woke up playing. Joey Ramone is one of my favorite singers of all time. He is often imitated by three chord rip-offs who end up sounding like muppets with cotton balls in their mouth. There is only one Joey. Joey sings the kind of melodies that are as simple as they are memorable. They’ve also managed to hold up well over time. I romanticize Joey; not like the film Rock N Roll High School in which he is portrayed as a sex symbol to Riff Randall during a pot induced dream she has; but still, I hold him up. I just think he had a good soul. I see him as an OCD compassionate misfit leading a group of leather clad maniacs. I got Joey Ramones only solo album Don’t Worry About Me (2011) as a gift for Christmas. I was in a total Ramones fascination phase. I sold it to a record store unhappy with the production of it. I thought it sounded edge-less and dry. Regardless, the record on the whole is endearing. It’s uplifting and life affirming though released the year after Joey’s death from lymphoma.

This particular song is a favorite on the album. It’s hilarious to hear someone sing, “What’s happenin’ on A O L??” It shows how fast media and our lives around the internet can change. I think this song shows Joey’s desire to be an informed and important American (who happens to be quite famous) all-the-while crushing on news reporter Maria Bartiromo. Concerning Bartiromo; I recently saw my little sister in Eve Ensler’s play, The Vagina Monologues at Ohio Wesleyan University. The group of women performing it ended the play by reading an 11/11 article by Ensler published by Huffington Post called “OVER IT.” It was an intense and fitting end to a wonderful production of the play. If you have not read it, I recommend taking a look at this powerful and moving call to action to end rape culture. In it she writes,

“I am over the fact that after four women came forward with allegations that Herman Cain groped them and grabbed them and humiliated them, he is still running for the President of the United States. And I’m over CNBC debate host Maria Bartiromo getting booed when she asked him about it. She was booed, not Herman Cain.”

To Maria. To JOEY. RIP.

Ok. I cannot be concise. More song of the week coming SOON.

Leave a comment

Filed under SONG OF THE WEEK!

Leave a Reply

